KidAJoe’s Music Challenge – A Song That You Know All the Words To


There are a lot of songs that fall in the the category of songs I know all the word to. I have listened to some albums so many time that they are engrained into my very soul.  I can sing every word of Sublime’s eponymous third album for instance.  My favorite line has to be “I’d didn’t realize she had that G.I. Joe kung-foo hip”  from the song “Caress Me Down”.  I really think this a great album and really represents my a certain period of my life.  The following link is to the album on Spotify, Sublime.

One individual song I can sing from beginning to end actually could fall into another list, guilty pleasure.  I am on coarse thinking of Vanilla Ice’s classic rap track Ice Ice Baby.  The lyrics go (from the top of my head):

all right, Stop collaborate and listen,

ice is back with a brand new invention

Something grab a hold of me tighty

flows like a harpoon daily and nightly

will it ever stop? I don’t know

turn of the lights and I’ll glow

to the extreme I rock a mic like a vandal

Light up a stage and wax a chump like a candle

I could go on…but why not just let you listen the Vanilla Ice during a Saturday Night Live performance back in 1991. I couldn’t really find it on YouTube so below is a link to it elsewhere.  I highly recommend watching it to the end.  The best part of it is the dancing that goes on, I swear will have you cracking up! Enjoy!

Vanilla Ice


7 thoughts on “KidAJoe’s Music Challenge – A Song That You Know All the Words To

  1. I’m very guilty of being a huge music fan that doesn’t know all the lyrics to some of my favorite songs. Gibberish by Spocks Beard is not one of these lyrically unclear songs to me. In part because the lyrics are so…..well, clear and easy to make out. I’ve also heard the song 794 times give or take one or two!

    • I infact do not know or even care about lyrics to many things. I will admit to having a love/hate relationship with Marlyn Manson, and one time someone asked how could listen to him. They said the were greatly offended by his lyrics. My reply was “Why? What is he singing about?” I really had no idea, I just liked the music. Another problem some have is they need songs to have a meaning. One example of me not caring is my love for Radiohead. Thom Yorke write lyrics based what sounds good with the music. Many of there song make no sense at all.

  2. ok, I have one…and might I add that one of my favorite parts of the LIVE 8 concerts was when this particular artist got out on stage and said…”this is the test right here…this is the ultimate test right here…to see if me and jazzy got some fan’s…” and then Will Smith proceeds to let a million people sing the FRESH PRINCE OF BEL-AIR theme song ! I can’t imagine anybody from generation x NOT knowing the lyrics to that one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

