This one goes out to my one true love…


The Ladies!   Ok, I do love the ladies, but I did steal that line from a They Might Be Giants song.   I wanted to salute all the ladies of music with a mixtape dedicated to them.  So the theme of this one is a song your favorite female vocalist.

As always, limit your selections to 1-4 songs.  Please try to post the song in the comments, for sometime I don’t realize you have added a song to a playlist on Spotify until several weeks later.  I don’t always get a chance to look at all the mixtape that frequently.   I did update the MASTER MIXTAPE page (link on the left of this post) to reflect songs added to several previous mixes.  Again after you have posted a song here in the comments feel free to add the song to the Spotify playlist below!

The Spotify playlists is here: All Mixed Up in 2012, Vol. 4 – Femme Fatale

I’ll try make a YouTube playlist that can be found here: All Mixed Up in 2012, Vol. 4 – Femme Fatale

The following is the playlists we have created:

  1. Hard Lovin’ Woman by Juliette Lewis from Terra Incognita posted by KidAJoe
  2. Black Tongue by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs from Fever to Tell posted by KidAJoe
  3. Drive to Dallas by The Fiery Furnaces from I’m Going Away posted by KidAJoe
14 thoughts on “This one goes out to my one true love…

  1. This is way harder than I expected. First one is easy, Hard Lovin’ Woman by Juliette Lewis from Terra Incognita. No I have to narrow down 14 other down to 3. Hmmm…
    Black Tongue by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs from Fever to Tell, Drive to Dallas by The Fiery Furnaces from I’m Going Away and….One to be determined later…

  2. 1. Blower’s Daughter by Anneke van Giersbergen from the album Pure Air originally recorded by Damien Rice. I’m not really a fan of covers but she nails this song. Perhaps you remember her Joe. She Used to sing for The Gathering. She still sounds like an angel.
    2. Mississippi by Paula Cole from the album This Fire. Nobody pours their heart and guts into a song like Paula Cole. She’s tied with Anneke for my favorite female singer. Her newest album is great to. It’s called Ithaca.
    3.Ghost Love Score by Nightwish from the album Once. Just because Nightwish rule and Tarja makes most metal singers male or female look bad.

    • I had both The Gathering and Nightwish on my list. I figured you would post at least one of those so I left them off the mix. You didn’t fail me! Glad to see them on this mix! I do think you should have picked another Paula Cole song though. I think you put this song on the very first mix we made. In any case great selections all around!

  3. Lucinda Williams:
    1. Kiss Like Your Kiss
    2. Something About What Happens When We Talk
    3. Real LIve Bleeding Fingers and Guitar Strings
    4. Still I Long For Your Kiss

    TIme Magazine said she is America’s Greatest Living Songwriter. This was back in 2004. Forget best FEMALE Songwriter, how about BEST SONGWRITER PERIOD!!! I also love her quivering voice and bad ass rocking band. No one delivers a sad heartbreaking song like Lucinda.

  4. Joe, honestly, this is as difficult as picking one’s favorite male vocalist.
    Not sure I understood correctly, if we can choose more than 1 artist and from any era. If yes to both questions, then there’s too many to choose from.

    Emmy Lou Harris voice sends shivers down my spin. Incredible voice.

    I’d have to throw in Patti Smith, Chrissy Hyde from the Pretenders, Deborah Harry from the Blondie, Janis Joplin and perhaps the greatest female vocalist of all time is no doubt Billie Holiday. Ella Fitzgerald, Mavis Staples, Tina Turner. Gillian Welch, Linda Rondstadt, Allison Krauss, Bonnie Raitt, Carly Simon, Susan Tedeschi, Stevie Nicks, Ertha Kitt, Etta James, the list goes on and on and on. Shouldn’t be that hard to find at least one we like.

    • Yes it is quite impossible.  You just have to narrow it down the best you can.  There really are way to many great female singers.  Maybe we will do a full mix with this theme.  

  5. I have heard Anneke’s new album and I love it. I may have picked on song off of that if it wasn’t so new. I like to let things settle for a while before I start throwing around words like favorite.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

