Record Store Day



Record Store Day (RSD) 2011 was back on the 16th of April.  It was a beautiful day- spring was in the air, the birds were singing, and uh…ok, enough with that…

For those who don’t know RSD was created back in 2007 by our very own local record store guru Chris Brown.  I have met Chris on numerous occasions in the past, back in the days when he was just a lowly record store employee/manager.  He thought of the idea as a way of celebrating music in what he dubbed “real music stores”, but better known to you and me as our locally owned record stores.  (To some though, RSD was put in place to try and get bodies back into record stores after the dawn of the digital age of music.)   It is celebrated the third Sunday every April and includes special sales, RSD exclusives and, in many locations, live music.

This was actually my first record store day attendance, mainly because I always got stuck working on Saturdays.  My fiancee Andrea and I arrived about half an hour before Bull Moose was set to open.  There was already about 10-15 in line waiting, so I to hopped in line.   Andrea, who has much less interest in music than I, was less than enthused.  She spun off in her car to run an errand and get me coffee!  The short time in line was cool, hearing different people takes on music this and music thats.  Chris actually took a stroll down the line at one point stopping and chatting with people.  Then the doors opened, and all that calm went away.  The first several minutes was a bit of crowding, and pushing and grabbing.  I mean, not anything nasty, just a bunch of people knowing what they wanted and making sure they did there best to get their hands on it.

I myself was able to find most of what I wanted, although I did miss out on a couple.  After all was said and done I came away with Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues b/w Grown Ocean 12″ Vinyl,  Lower Dens – Deer Knives b/w Tangiers – 7″ Vinyl,  Ramones/Red Hot Chili PeppersHavana Affair – 7′ Split Vinyl, Deerhoof/Xui Xui – Almost Xiu Xiu, Almost Deerhoof – 7″ Split Vinyl.  The Decemberists – January Hymn/Row Jimmy – 7″ Vinyl and The Black Keys – The Moan/Have Love Will Travel – 7″ Vinyl.  I also picked up several free compilations CD releases just for RSD, most notably, SubPop Terminal Sales Vol. 4: Please to Enjoy.   The ones I missed were The Civil Wars – Dance Me To The End Of Love – 7″ Vinyl and Radiohead – Supercollider/The Butcher – 10″ Vinyl (the latter of which I found out was not available because of a printing issue)  I guess technically I would have liked to have purchased about 10 other things, but I do have limited disposable income with twin girls to provide for!

One funny story for the day.  I noticed one of my old classmates in line up ahead of me, which seemed normal enough.  But later when I was able to catch up to him and chat, he told me he thought that RSD was free so he had run in, grabbed a bunch of stuff and brought it to the register only to find out that everything he had picked up was not in fact free.  I didn’t laugh at the time but did have chuckle later when retelling the story to Andrea.  There is another rather funny and maybe ironic tidbit.  As you can see, I purchased quite a few vinyls. I actually have a pretty good collection of vinyl too! The funny part is I don’t yet own a turntable!

So did you attend RSD?  What was it like?  What did you go for? What did you miss?  Let me hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

