The Digital Age.


I hope everyone had a safe and fun 4th of July.  After a few great days with my family I’m back, hope not to have these breaks from posting again.  So here we go…

I myself come from a time when having physical piece of music in hand was a huge part of the music buying experience.  I was born in the cassette age, but grew up with compact discs.  I remember opening each long box, careful not to ruin the precious cover, which I would later hang on my bedroom wall.  While listening to an album for the first time I would pour over whatever booklet of art and linear notes came with my new CD.   I remember being disappointed when one of my new Cd’s would only have a couple pages or a dreaded single page album cover.  More over, I would continuously go back and look at those booklets during later listens.  I have heard many a times music lovers from the age of vinyl telling a similar tale.

Then came the MP3.  It was my first year of college when I first downloaded an mp3.  While I still was buying music by the artist I loved,  I began downloading music by artist I would have never thought of buying.  Things that I had heard on the radio, or song my parents and friends has listened to during my youth.  At the same time though, it opened me to a world new music (although mostly mainstream at the time).  I heard “Video Killed the Radio Star” by the Buggles as a result of one of these downloads.  (I find it ironic, because now Mp3 has killed the video star)  As MP3 grew in popularity so shrank my willingness to buy them.

Time went on, oceans rose and my taste in music changed.  I was no longer getting my musical tastes from the likes of MTV and the radio.  Rather I was discovering music by my own means via the internet.  I began listening to undergound metal,  punk and indie rock.  I discovered there was music outside the realm of what was given to me.   The record industry helped me along a bit also, by not initially embracing the technology.  They were certainly late to the show!

I still did support music and the artists that brought me the music.  I did buy music occasionally, but also in a different way.  I spent money on concert tickets, t-shirts (heck, I was a walking billboard most days), DVD’s and other rock collectables. I also supported the artist by getting my friends into many of the musicians I discovered.    But even with all of this, one thing was missing.  For a long time I couldn’t put my finger on it. Then I figured it out.  It was the fact that I missed having a piece of work in my hands.  That is one reason why I started buying music again.   At first it was CD’s but now more commonly its vinyl.

So what do you think?  Has the dawn of the digital killed the record store?  Will kids know what it like to open up a new CD or vinyl?  It that day gone?

2 thoughts on “The Digital Age.

  1. I am a good little girl and like what MTV and the radio tell me to like. I don’t remember my first CD, but I do remember Napster and the magic of getting those MTV songs for free. No threat of being sued for millions could deter me (of couse, my entire net worth was probably about $50 so that might have contributed). I think you are correct that CD’s, vinyl etc have gone by the wayside. I will be shocked if we see our girls with anything but some form of a mp3 or digital player in their life.

    • I don’t know if I would call that being a good girl, but it certainly is something. I think everyone from our age group has stolen their fair share of music. I do hope that more people realize the importance of supporting the artist though.
      As for our little girls, I know that they may never own a record or cd, but I’m sure they will experience them because of me.

Leave a Reply

