KidAJoe’s Music Challenge – A song that you first heard live…


Most my friends know my love of live music. I have been to hundreds of concerts over the years.  I have download hundreds and hundreds of live music too.  That is why I chose to cover “A song that you first heard live, that you became instantly obsessed with” as the next part of my music challenge.

Over the years I have fallen in love all sorts of new bands based on live performances I’ve seen or heard.   The Dropkick Murphys, however top all of them.  It was the fall of 1997, my first semester of my freshman year of college.  I saw in the local music magazine that one of my favorite band the Mighty Mighty Bosstones were heading up to the Central Maine Civic Center in Lewiston.  I was totally pumped for the show and snatched up a ticket.  I later learned that the Bosstones were bringing 3 Boston area band with them on this tour.  I was pretty excited and although Boston in a good hour and half away, us Mainers kind of claim it as local.   If I remember correctly they were Bim Skala Bim, the Amazing Royal Crowns and the Dropkick Murphys.  I had never heard any of these band at the time and was pretty excited to hear some new stuff.

I went to the show that night excited I would finally get to see the Bosstones live.  I new they would rock.  What I wasn’t expecting is that the Dropkick Murphys (still fronted be Mike McColgan) would steal the whole night!  I was amazed by them.  I bought my first of many DKM t-shirts that night, and the next day went and bought their Boys on the Docks EP which at the time was the only thing they had recorded.  Since that night I have seen them 13 times, bought t-shirts at almost every single show, and purchased everyone of there albums and EPs on both CD and vinyl.   I’ve met the band on few occasions too!

So below I will post a video of some live Mike McColgan era Dropkick Murphys.   This clip is 10 minutes long, but contains 4 songs, Caps & Bottles, Finnegan’s Wake, Caught in a Jar and Boy on the Dock.  This performance is from a show in Seattle in March of 1998, which is about 6 months after the show I went to.

Dropkick Murphys Links:

3 thoughts on “KidAJoe’s Music Challenge – A song that you first heard live…

  1. Pingback: KidAJoe’s Music Challenge « KidAJoe

  2. Unlike you, I missed my chance to see the Mighty Mighty Bosstones . I was 15 years old at the time and tried to see them at The Middle East in Boston. The Middle East had a age limit of 18+ and I was not able to get into the show .

    This was very hard for me to decide. If I had to choose just one show it would be Nine Inch Nails/Dave Bowie Tour (1995 at the Tweeter Center, MA ). This was during the Downward Spiral Tour with Dave Bowie. The highlight of the show was when Dave Bowie came out on stage to sing with Trent Reznor. This was after both of them performed an amazing 3 hour show.

    • Well, I’ve seen them twice now dude. And you haven’t miss your chance, they are currently recording a new album. I would imagine they will tour to support it.
      It nust have been amazing show. I still haven’t seen NIN yet. He’s semi retired now, but I’m hoping that won’t last long. Bowie would be amazing too!

Leave a Reply

