KidAJoe’s Music Challenge – A Song That is a Guilty Pleasure


A guilty pleasure is something one enjoys and considers pleasurable despite feeling guilt for enjoying it.  During my relatively short musical lifespan I would say there has been there fair share of guilty pleasures.  (and despite popular belief amongst my friends I do not like Justin Beiber)  I’n my younger drinking days, one of my pop loving friends would sometime play music I hated.  One such video he played, which actually became regular part of our parting night was very politically incorrect.  It was a bunch of Asian college students from UCLA lip syncing to a bunch of N’Sync songs.  They called themselves N’Chink (yes seriously!) and the song we tended to listen to most frequently was Bye Bye Bye.  So as a result I grew to actually like this song, which I still am very ashamed about.  For your comedic musical enjoyment I present to you N’Chink…

Another artist I am proudly ashamed to mention is Mika.  He is a power pop artist who hails from the UK whose biggest hit here in the states was probably Grace Kelly.  His album Life in Cartoon Motion for whatever reason got some pretty regular playtime from my for a short period of time a few years back.  I think one reason I liked him is his voice is very reminiscent of the late Freddy Mercury of Queen.  I still pull it out occasionally when I’m feeling like something really hooky and catchy.  Check out Love Today from Life in Cartoon Motion.

N’Sync Links:

Homepage Facebook MySpace Wiki NPR

N’Chink Links:

Homepage – Facebook – MySpace – Wiki – NPR

Mika Links:

5 thoughts on “KidAJoe’s Music Challenge – A Song That is a Guilty Pleasure

  1. Too funny man. I guess Pink might be considered my guilty pleasure. Angela loves her so i’ve had alot of exposure to her songs and enjoy them quite a bit. At least she can actually sing.

  2. I am proud of all the music i listen too…if anything i’m ashamed that i’ve grown to like coldplay as i always considered them a ‘whiny’ band. otherwise, perhaps still loving NKOTB (minus the BSB) is something i should feel shame about, but i dont. i celebrate it and sing it at the top of my voice in the car. the 80’s produced some great music!

Leave a Reply

