Any of you fricking pricks move, and I’ll execute every motherfricking last one of ya!


It’s a shame I feel it necessary to edit the title of this post.  It is only a word.  Oh well, didn’t want to offend, guess that means I’m growing up?

So this post comes at the urging of my friend, Jessica.  She knows about one of my other great loves, the movies!  She thought it was only fitting that I comment on music in film.

For me, the first thing that come to mind is Star Wars.  I’m sure this come to quite a surprise to all my friends, since as a kid I collected thousands of dollars worth of Star Wars collectables.  I have “grown up” and moved on from that fetish, unlike some of my friends!  (sorry Butter)  The music of Star Wars was amazing!  All original music composed by John Williams.  I would imagine most people know of John Williams, but I’ll give a brief history just in case.  Mr. Williams has composed soundtracks for films such as Jaws, Indiana Jones, E.T., Superman (Christoper Reeves version) and more recently for the Harry Potter series.  As you can see he is responsible for some of the most recognizable themes in movies.  The Star Wars Main Theme is certainly his most recognizable, but I am going to post the music of the Catina Band (with the help of some video from Family Guy) from the scene in Mos Eisley Catina during A New Hope.

Obviously music on film goes well beyond orchestrated pieces.  Some of the greatest sound tracks are made from music already out in the world.   Film with great musical soundtracks include The Graduate, O Brother Where art Though, Juno, Garden State, Baz Lurman’s Romeo and Juliet and Dazed and Confused (just to name a few random ones).  As the title of this post indicates, I have a great love for the sound tracks that Quentin Tarantino puts in his films.  The first Tarantino film I saw was Pulp Fiction.  From the very opening credits you are treated with Dick Dale’s surf rendition of the Greek song Misirlou.   Can any of us here Misirlou and think of anything but Pulp FictionPulp Fiction also contains what I think is one of the best covers ever.  I am speaking of Urge Overkill‘s cover of Girl, You’ll Be a Woman Soon originally done by Neil Diamond.  In my eyes Tarantino film have some of the most interesting and eclectic music of any films.  Here is a video by Stealers Wheel doing Stuck in Middle with You which is part of the torture/ear cut scene in Reservoir Dogs.

The last form of music in film of coarse is from the musical itself.   There are hundreds of musicals out there, but a few of my favorites include Cabaret, Chicago, the Sound of Music, Aladin, Fiddler on the Roof, My Fair Lady Phantom of the Opera, and RENT.  I could actually mention so many more but it seems ridiculous to list them all.  One of my most favorites is a rock musical written by John Cameron Mitchell title Hedwig and the Angry Inch.  It is the story of a fictitious band fronted by a transgendered individual named Hedwig, who is searching for love.  Obviously this will be a little controversial to some because of content of the film, but it really is a great movie about love and acceptance.    The song I’ll post for this is called the Origin of Love.

What music moves you?

4 thoughts on “Any of you fricking pricks move, and I’ll execute every motherfricking last one of ya!

  1. I’m sure Joe that have both seen and heard the movie Across the Universe. Being a fellow Beatles fan this movie quickly climbed to the top of my favorite movies list (sounds like a blog topic). The soundtrack holds some of my favorite Beatles covers. The cast, having little to no formal singing lessons prior to filming, conveyed raw sound and emotion that did the classic songs right justice.

    • I had in fact seen and heard as a result Across the Universe. I like it when I saw it, but have never watched it again, so I by that it must not have captured the way the above musical had. Of coarse it does contain music from the one of the best bands of all time so I should give it another chance. I may have watched it during the blurry years too…

  2. From the movie Blackboad Jungle (1955), “Rock around the Clock” by Bill Haley and the Comets.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047885/soundtrack

    “Blackboard Jungle was also the first major studio film to use rock & roll on the soundtrack”.

    Read more: http://www.answers.com/topic/blackboard-jungle#ixzz1V86jzPoQ

    Also, how about the soundtrack to the Beatles A Hard Days Night, although I prefer the album to the soundtrack (they are different).

    Brian K

  3. I’ve never seen Blackboard Jungle. When I hear Rock Around the Clock I instantly think of “American Graffiti” which was another great movie with and awesome soundtrack. I may have to go dig out my copy and watch it!

Leave a Reply

