Got a good reason for taking the easy way out.


A while back, our good friend (and frequent blog reader) Brian, sent me a link to a website.  This website I immediately thought was awesome and bookmarked on the spot.  That was about 2 months ago.  That was the last time I even looked at the page.  So I was going though my bookmarks last night and came across it and decided to visit it again.   Man it is still awesome!   I’m going to make sure not to ignore it for another two months.  I am speaking of coarse about Daytrotter.com. (yes, my title is from the Beatles song Daytripper, not Daytrotter!)

What Daytrotter is a music site.  The premise of this website is “One band a day, every day, 28 Daytrotter Session songs each week” as stated on its about page.  They have a band/artist come in to there little studio when passing through Illinois during a tour.   The band usually pile out of there van, tired from the rigors of the road, and pile into a studio to record 4 tracks all in one take.   That’s what makes this so cool. There is very minimal tweeking, no overdubbung or no special set-up.  These are recorded quickly for a unique and raw performance.

The artist are for the most part (atleast to me) relatively unknown artists, although there are some fairly well known artsits.  This is a great place to go to discover new music!  During my digging last night I uncovered some gems from some of my favorite artists, such bands include Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear, Death Cab for Cutie, The Civil Wars, Dirty Projectors and Fitz & the Tantrums.  These are just a few of the 20 odd recognizable ones I downloaded, there are hundred more I don’t know.

You can explore 3 different ways.  When you click on an artist’s Daytrotter Session, you can either listen to a streaming version of each track (good for sampling) or you can download the whole session in Mp3 format for free.  Some artist provide a lossless version of the session in Apple lossless format for 3-4 bucks.  (exact copies of the analog tapes! nice!)  The last way you can access the site is through its nifty little iTouch/iPhone app.   I haven’t spent much time on the app as of yet, so I don’t really know what that is all about other than for streaming the tracks. There are a few other bonuses to the site, but I’ll let you explore and discover those on your own.  Below is the logo of Daytrotter.com, you can click on it to access there homepage! Happy discovering!

Previous PostHomeNext Post

2 thoughts on “Got a good reason for taking the easy way out.

  1. Pingback: Never talk about Religion, Politics or Money, Part One « KidAJoe

  2. Pingback: Mixtape to be Named Later… « KidAJoe

Leave a Reply

