First things First!


appy Friday everyone!  Another long week is coming to an end and you know what that means.  Mixtape time!  This weeks mix was suggested to me on Facebook a week or two back by one of my music guru’s out in Philadelphia, Brian.  As you all know I love music, but I tend to lean much more toward the more modern works of art.  Sorry if I’m dating him, but he has exposed me to a bit older music such as the Rolling Stones, Jeff Beck, the music of Blackboard Jungle and just recently Les McCann.  Most of those I was at least some what familiar with, but certainly aren’t directly in my radar.  I should also point of he likes many modern musicians also, he is not just an old fool!  (sorry Brain)

He (like me) likes to listen to full albums.  To me it seems to weird to listen to track 2, 7 and 12.  I say put on track one and push play.  That being said, Brian’s idea was a mix of our favorite/best opening tracks.  The first track is one that can lure you in. It can something that just throws you in to the fray.  Sometime it can just be a little instrumental.   What opening do you like?  Again, post 1-3 songs of your liking, both Spotify and YouTube links are below.

The Spotify playlists is here: Let’s make a Mixtape, Vol. 7 – First Things, First

I have made a YouTube playlist that can be found here: Vol. 7

The following is the playlists we have created:

Favorites:

  1. Like A Rolling Stone – Bob Dylan, Highway 61 Revisited by Brian K.
  2. Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana, Nevermind by Brian K.
  3. Wouldn’t It Be NiceBeach Boys, Pet Sounds by Mike N.
  4. HauntedPoe, Haunted by Jessica M.
  5. Welcome to the Jungle – Guns N Roses, Appetite for Destruction by KidAJoe
  6. In the Morning – First Aid Kit, The Big Black and The Blue by KidAJoe
  7. Back in the Saddle – Aerosmith, Rocks by KidAJoe
  8. You Will Be a Hot Dancer – Incubus , Fungus Amongus by Rebekkah W.
  9. Good Day – Dresden Dolls, Dresden Dolls by Andrew C.

Previous PostHomeNext Post

8 thoughts on “First things First!

  1. Cool. Thanks, Joe. I will post a song or two. I must say my favorite
    Stones and Jeff Beck albums were recorded between my time in the womb
    to the time I learned my multiplication tables (mid sixties to early
    seventies). I call it “my older brothers” music, but some of it was
    before even his time. I do think it was the most aristic,
    experimental, diverse and creative period in rock, jazz and pop
    history. Best thing is I am still discovering new to me music and
    artists from this era as well as artists I’d heard of but never
    listened to. I find some of it to be amazing such as the band Love and
    Traffic. I wish I had been old enough to see Jimi Hendrix, the Who
    and Jeff Airplane at the Monterey Pop Festival but I was just out of
    diapers. Hendrix is one of my all time favorites since I was a teen.

    My coming of age music (teens to early twenties) that was brand new at
    the time was the very first REM and U2 EPs and singles as well as Van
    Halen, Cure, X, Black Flag, Bad Brains, Elvis Costello, Talking Heads,
    the Cars, Police, Cheap Trick and Prince. My first concert was the
    real Van Halen in 1981. My third fav era of music.

    My second fav era of music is the late eighties and early nineties,
    Nirvana, Pumpings, Pixies, Fugazi, etc….

    I love Ray LaMontange and some other relatively newer artists, but I
    am not finding much new music I like beyond just a couple listens.

    Thanks for sharing my idea.

    • Haha, I didn’t mean to make you sound old! I am thankful for your “older brother music”. I did get some musical influences from my sister Corrie, but none from my other sisters. “Older brother music”, that’s a good way to explain what I was saying about you. You kind of help expose me to music from before my time that I should really get to know. The good thing is you really do cover many different generations with your tastes.
      Are you using Spotify much? I will have to share some more modern stuff with you. I really think there is some great stuff out there. One just has to dig. I have to say that the Fleet Foxes are by far at the top of my list right now. I have a special place in my heart for harmonies so that explains a lot of what I like about them, but I also relate to there song writing. You should give them a spin!

  2. Haunted from Haunted by Poe.

    Note: This is actually the 2nd track on the album, but it is the first song….the first track is 1:00 of dialogue.

    • I found Poe when I was 16 and fell in love with her instantly. It’s only album I was able to introduce my brother to. He is the musical guru in my family. (her first album is what I heard first, but I love all her songs)

  3. I had to pick the dresden dolls (They are from Boston,MA)

    Brian Kuhlmann: you seem to have a good mix of stuff that you grew up listening to. I have been exposed, to many different genres. I am very interested in checking out some of your play lists. I use to listen to X. A punk band that went Country .

    I have 6 different eras of music I have gotten into over the years. I still listen to all the music from all 6 eras.

    era 1 ) glam/rock, rock , and pop (80’s)
    era 2) classical musical and rap (late 80’s and early 90’s)
    era 3) Alternative rock (early 90’s)
    era 4) Punk rock (mid 90’s-1997ish)

    *** Joe might remember this Era

    era 5) Metal and Hardcore (late 90’s )

    *** Joe remembers this Era

    era 6) Indie music (current)

Leave a Reply

