Come Fly with Me, Let’s Fly, Let’s Fly Away…


…If you can use some exotic boos there’s a bar in far Bombay.  The Chairman of the Board, Ol’ Blue Eyes, Francis Albert Sinatra or maybe you know him better as Frank Sinatra.  I write about him because I have a special place for him in my heart.  You see my dad (who is a bit older then all my high school classmates dads) used to play him when I was young.  My dad, who just turned 74 about a week or so ago grew up in the years when the Chairman was in his prime.  My dad also grew up playing the clarinet and had a fondness for big band music.  So in my youth, I would occasionally hear the likes of Glen Miller and Tommy Dorsey. I think he got these tastes from his mother who would have heard these artist in her younger years.

My dad still listens to Sinatra occasionally now.  There is a fairly recent story about him driving several hours home from my house listening to the radio.  He was amazed that one radio station was playing so many Frank Sinatra songs.  Then at some point he started hearing some of the same songs, that when he realized that it was a mixed CD I had made for him playing in his CD player!  Classic!

Well I’ll leave you with a spotify playlist I have made called Ol’ Blue Eyes as well as this YouTube video, The Girl From Ipanema.

 

Leave a Reply

