George W. Stearns High School


So in attempt to get some traffic on this here blog, I am going to try a new tactic.  I do appreciate all my friends who regular my site, but I do need to expand past you (and not always expect you to be here).  So a trending topic on twitter at the moment is #HighShoolMemories, so I’m going to write about some musical memories I have from high school.

This is going to give you a little bit of history into me musically.  I really separate my music like into two major parts (maybe three now but I won’t get into the third in this post).  Up to the beginning of my sophomore year of high school I listened to what ever was mainstream or what ever my friends listened to.  I certainly like what I liked, but within the stream of what is fed to us in popular media and culture.

Then something miraculous happened.  Somehow for reason I don’t even remember now, I was lured into working on the school fall musical, through which I was introduced to a group of people I hadn’t associated with previously.  This group of people, including one that would become a life long friend, would introduce me to Liz Phair, the Ramones, Tori Amos, Type O Negative and many other band not in the mainstream. This changed my musical landscape completely.  I soon adopted the “I hate the mainstream” mantra, one I would carry far to long, but one I would carry all the less.

There are particular memories I have from this time I’d like to share.  Growing up in a small town one of the only things to do is drive around and listen to music.  I remember one time sitting in my buddy Chauncey’s car behind Katahdin Avenue School listening to Type O Negative’s Bloody Kisses for the first time.  I think I fell in love instantly and Type O Negative would become my favorite band for the next 5-6 years.  The other memory I have is of sitting in my girlfriend at the time, Manisha’s bedroom listening to Liz Phair’s Exile in Guyville.  This wasn’t something I would fall in love with instantly, for I was raised in the old fashion male dominant world.  At this time of my life women singing like Liz Phair did seemed strangely odd, later in life this album would become one of my favorites, and now I may even like female singers more than I do male. 

So now you may see a small insight into my musical past and what memories stick with me from high school.  Tell me about you favorite musical memory from high school.

9 thoughts on “George W. Stearns High School

  1. Ah, memories. Back in my high school “daze”, the 70’s, my fondest music memories are sneaking off to River Street in Savannah, GA and playing the “bars”, so to speak. LOL…

    • hehe…being from a small town in northern maine we didn’t really have a music scene…any band that actually formed were just cover bands…I didn’t get to see real live music until I left for college…and boy did that open up pandora’s box!

    • Liz Phair’s Exile in Guyville is a song by song response to the Rolling Stones Exile on Main Street. Favorite song is “F*** and Run”. She’s a huge Stones fan by the way and did a great interview recently about why she’s such a huge Stones fan for the recent re-release of Exile on Main Street. She mentioned a funny encounter with Mick Jagger after she released her album. She met him at some event and he said, “oh, that’s you” and then just walked away like he was offended. But she didn’t know how to respond because she was such a huge fan. The Liz Phair album is so sparse or dark. Love it when it’s just the electric guitar and her voice. The Stones album also has some very dark moments. Especially in the sound and tones. It’s really scary to listen to sometimes. Anyway, these are both two of my favorite albums of all time.

  2. Ahhh, Good times indeed man. I Remember some of that stuff like it was yesterday. Like driving us all down to Skowhegan(I think) to watch showchoir competition and Mike J got his first tattoo. I’m pretty sure we cranked Type-O the whole day. Or sitting in the bus on our way to the one act competition and using a headphone splitter so we could check out the same tunes at the same time. Getting new music is way too easy thes days we are so spoiled.

  3. I remember going to see Type O Negative with you a bunch of times. I feel in love with Type O Negative by accident in 1993, which at that time was unusual for my listening habits. I was more into Mainstream Alt rock but “Bloody Kisses” changed all of that. I was soon after that getting into Punk Rock and harder music then before.

    Years later I remember seeing Type O Negative a bunch of times, some shows with Joe and some shows with my ex girlfriend. Joe remember the Type O Negative show at Alvon Club in Boston (now the House of Blues) ? lol

  4. They had a great music scene in Chicago in the early 1990s led by Smashing Pumpkins, Liz Phair, Urge Overkill, Material Issue. I have an autographed copy of the Exile from Guyville CD. Also, the original on the now defunct Matador records. Liz Phair was raised in the Chicago area. John Cusack, also a Chicago native did a great interview on the re-release of Exile from Guyville about why that album is so amazing.

Leave a Reply

