The Gods Have Spoken.


*(I ran out of time before work I will re-read and edit this post tonight)*

So with a very small portion of my tax return I decided to buy some more music for my beloved vinyl collection. At this early stage in my collecting I am only picking up the albums and artist that are most near and dear to my heart.  Also the other night it suddenly hit me that I hadn’t heard an album I listened to all the time when in my late high school and early college day in a very very long time.  I decided I was going to compile a list of my personal favorite albums of all time.  Just so we are clear on this, I’m not saying these are the best albums of all time, just that they are “my favorites”.  In doing so I hope to have a place I can always go to remind me what music I might be missing both in a physical manner (AKA vinyl) and in a personal way (AKA listening).  It also give you the ability to maybe discover some new stuff.

Some of you have read a bit of my previous posts (and for thosesome of you know me personally),  so some of this list will not be a surprise to you at all.  This list is in no particular order at the moment.  I am going to list my top 50, which is a very small amount of the music I listen to.  I will try to put them in some semblance of order this weekend.  From time to time I may even add and subtract from this list as I discover new loves, or just change my tastes.

  1. Radiohead – Kid A
  2. Type O Negative – Bloody Kisses
  3. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimist
  4. Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes
  5. Tiamat – Wildhoney
  6. Pearl Jam – Vitology
  7. The Decemberist – Hazards of Love
  8. Radiohead – Hail to the Thief
  9. Radiohead – Amnesiac
  10. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Show Your Bones
  11. Juliette Lewis – Terra Incognita
  12. Pink Floyd – Dark Side of the Moon
  13. Pink Floyd – Animals
  14. Radiohead – In Rainbows
  15. The Raconteurs – Consolers of the Lonely
  16. The White Stripes – Get Behind Me Satan
  17. Bon Iver – Bon Iver
  18. Counting Crow – August and Everything After
  19. Arcade Fire – Funeral
  20. The Black Keys – Brothers
  21. The Black Key – Attack & Release
  22. Anthrax – Stomp 442
  23. The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow
  24. Coldplay – Parachutes
  25. Dropkick Murphy – Do or Die
  26. Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues
  27. Fire on Fire – The ORchard
  28. First Aid Kit – The Big Black and the Blue
  29. Fruit Bats – Ruminant Man
  30. Hedwig and the Angry Inch Soundtrack
  31. James Blake – James Blake
  32. xx –
  33. King Diamond – Give Me Your Soul…Please
  34. King Diamond – The Spider’s Lullaby
  35. Juliette Lewis – Your Speacking My Language
  36. Larkin Grim – Harpoon
  37. Misfits – Static Age
  38. Nine In Nails – The Fragile
  39. Modest Mouse – Good News for People Who Love Bad News
  40. Pearl Jam – Vs.
  41. Pearl Jam – Yield
  42. Portishead – Third
  43. Radiohead – The King of Limbs
  44. The Shins – Wincing the Night Away
  45. Sigur Ros – ()
  46. Slayer – Seasons in the Abyss
  47. Smashing Pumpkin – Siamese Dream
  48. System of a Down – System of a Down
  49. They Might Be Giants – Flood
Leave a Reply

