Old Habits Die Hard too.


My music listening habits as of late have been quite predictable.   It’s partially because I have been so busy, but also because I haven’t particularly found anything new recently that really has moved me.  As a result I fall back into the music that does move me.

Radiohead was mentioned last week, is still in heavy rotation.  Along with them, Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear (who drops a new album in September!) The Civil Wars and the Fruit Bats. (the last is according to spotify although I still don’t trust that thing.)  All my comfort music.

I need to shake things up.  Fiona Apples new one is out this week.  Already played it three time so I guess that’s a little boost.  I usually ask this on facebook, but…

What should I listen to?  What bands/artists do you love? Who have you discovered?  Who should I check out?

Two goals I have are to tackle some more Ben Harper and to dive into some Springsteen.  I know a few of my followers love one or both of these artists.  Where should I start or go to with these two artist?

This is a rather short post and also a bit written on the wing.  I’ll be out of the english class writing business this week, and into math mode…yuck.  I’ll have to do better at getting my writing in via the blog.  Until next week.  Hasta la Pasta.

7 thoughts on “Old Habits Die Hard too.

  1. Been listening to Yellow Ostrich’s Strange Land a bunch lately (had the chance to see them live the other night and loved every second). Definitely worth a listen. Been hitting Father John Misty’s new album pretty hard as well.

    With respect to Springsteen, Darkness on the Edge of Town was/is a good gateway album for me (I’m still getting into him as well). I think seeing Justin Townes Earle cover “Racing in the Street” was the catalyst there.

  2. Darkness is a good one to start with. Most fans and critics would agree that his best three albums were his 3rd, 4th and 5th albums: Born to Run (1975), Darkness of the Edge of Town (1978) and The River (1980). Can’t wrong with anyone of those albums. All three are very different. “The River” was considered to be a little more of what was called “frat boy” rock back in the day. By contrast, “Born to Run” was considered very avant garde for it’s day. It was an album on the fringes that suprised people with it’s massive overnight success and appeal much like what happened with Nirvana’s “Nevermind” album. On “Darkness” compared to “Born to Run”, he really scaled back on the wall of sound and tried to simplify his lyrics, make them a little more straightforward. About this time he was also one of the first major artists known to not have a warm up band at his concerts and to play 3-4 hour shows. Unheard of back then. When I get a chance I’ll send you his Passaic, New Jersey 9/19/1978 Concert. It’s regarded as possilby his best live performance ever.

  3. I posted on your personal FB page & then saw you wanted stuff here. So, I’ve been listening to Imagine Dragons, Of Monsters & Men, Young the Giant, and Florence & the Machine to name a few. Some mainstream stuff I enjoy includes Snow Patrol, Lifehouse, Blue October. I’m a big fan of Fleetwood Mac. I enjoy Bob Seger, Steve Miller Band, Eagles, Aerosmith. Liked a few of the hair bands of the 80′s (Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Guns & Roses). Indigo Girls, Sarah McLachlan, Shawn Mullins, Dave Matthews Band. Really enjoy Mumford & Sons, though I know you’re already very familiar with them… And I could go on and on apparently….

  4. I I have recently discovered I know next to nothing about music , by way of a stupid game! What I do know you could fill a thimble with t! I hate new so called country music , can’t name a particular band. It’s not the band or singers it’s the style I hate! It just tortures me to have to listen to more than one song! Electric guitars and drums and beating banging noise is not country! I’d sooner sleep wit a porcupine in a balloon factory than listen to that noise! Old country and blue grass… That’s country. Merle haggard, johnnyncash, Loretta lyn, Charlie pride, Waylon Jennings, hank Williams senior, ( Jr. makes me want to slit my wrists)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

