Home is Where the Heart is.


I want to thank my good friend, Olaf for sharing the above image with me yesterday!   It put a smile on my face for sure!   As anyone who know me, know I am a big fan of the local music scene not only here in Maine but everywhere.  When traveling about this crazy world I always seek out small independent record stores and ask about the local music.  Some of the best music out there hasn’t been (and may not be) “discovered”.   And for us seekers the local music scene is the perfect place to find that next fulfilling thing.

I have written a little about my local music scene a bit on here.  I live in southern Maine, but all of Maine would be considered the local scene.  I know many might not quite understand this, but some may actually include Boston as out local scene and the places between.  That more of a regional thing I guess and since the population of Maine is so small in relation to many areas we sometime group it in our “local” brackets.  (Wikifact – Maine was part of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts until 1820)

The local bands I have cover so far have been the Rustic Overtones and the Cerberus Shoal/Fire on Fire Projects.   Really kind of sad I have neglected to write about more.    I do have plans to write about The Mallet Brothers, El Grande, Phantom Buffalo and my brother in laws band Wavelength at some point in the future.

In my travels, I have discovered Middle Distance Runner from Baltimore, Brown Recluse from Philadelphia and the Street Dogs from Boston.    I have also recently lived vicariously through my fellow blogger YouHearThat, I have explored band from the Richmond, VA local scene.  A couple more notables from there are the Black Girls and the White Laces.

So tell me where you are from and at least one great local band you love.  I’ll be sure to check them out!

Oh yeah, If you want to read my local music post go here.

4 thoughts on “Home is Where the Heart is.

  1. So glad you’re enjoying Black Girls and White Laces! One more I’ve been getting into a bunch lately is Snowy Owls. They did an awesome split 10″ with White Laces a while back, definitely worth checking out, and they should have a new full-length out relatively soon.

    • I totally love the Black Girls! I unfortunately missed them when they were up here with the Head and the Heart. One of the many down falls of second shift. I’ve also listened to the Arches quite a bit with much enjoyment.

  2. I have to admit that while I like to find new and interesting music – which is sometimes indie and local – I’m not a big supporter of local music. Especially live music. That requires going out to bars and hanging out with drunk smelly people. I support it in my heart, but I don’t do much to support it financially or by word of mouth. Does make sense?

    • Yeah, it does. I actually don’t make it out to shows since I work second shift. I do however buy music by local bands as much as I can. I can’t wait to get back on first shift so I can again enjoy some live music more often.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

