The weird wonderful world of 2014. (Best of)


2014 Top Two Albums

Great googly moogly!  Another year gone and another busy January.  Thanks to Blizzard 2015, I have the time today to finally post my favorite albums from the past year.  I really had a hard go this time around.  I really didn’t find this to be an overly strong year.  Either way, with out further adue…

St. Vincent – Eponymous:  Annie Clark created a masterpiece.  She combined her artier indie cred. with some pretty catchy pop hooks.  She also is a pretty interesting and talented guitarist to boot.  This one and First Aid Kit were by far the most played albums on this list.

First Aid Kit – Stay Gold:  As mentioned above this album was in heavy rotation.  I love these girls voices and harmonies.  Based on what I read of all the other top 2014 lists, this was the most underrated album of the year in my opinion.

Metronomy – Love Letters:  This one definitely falls into the indie pop category.  Much like there first album the songs are very catchy.  The thing I love about these guys is that they seem just a little of kilter.  I love weirdos!

Beck – Morning Phase:  Beck’s new record was one of my most played records of the first half of the year.  At some point it seemed to not draw me in as much.  The fact that is a pretty mellow album probably didn’t help, as I was frequently in the mood for something more upbeat.  Still makes it at the top because I do return to it and enjoy it greatly.

The remainder of this list really falls into the category of albums that I spent some amount of time with but couldn’t really say I loved enough to call them favorites.   I guess the fact that I didn’t repeatedly come back to them signaled to me a lack of true love.  Maybe with some more time a few of them will stand out a bit more…So the honorable mentions are:

Conor Oberst – Upside Down Mountain, Jack White – Lazeretto, The Bots – Pink Palms, Triptykon – Melana Chasmata, Deerhoof – La Isla Bonita, The Unicorns – Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone?, Agalloch – The Serpent & The Sphere, Broken Bells – After The Disco, tUnE-yArDs – Nikki Nack, Thom Yorke – Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes, Perfect Pussy – Say Yes To Love, The Flaming Lips – With A Little Help From My Fwends, Luluc – Passerby

What do you think?

One thought on “The weird wonderful world of 2014. (Best of)

Leave a Reply

