2016 List of lists…


20170106_171201

Hello all, time for my yearly blog post.  This time my good friend Andy is going to post his top ten list long side mine.  If your reading this you already know how awesome a year it was for music.  Most might even say it was the only good thing to happen this year, but that opinion I’ll leave to you.

My year in music was jam packed and diverse.  Seems every year I open up to more forms of music.  I actually took a course related to classical music this past fall.  It was very interesting indeed.  Well with out further ado…

Radiohead’s A Moon Shaped Pool  and Aurora’s  All My Demon’s Greeting Me as a Friend.  

These two albums were most definitely top albums of the year.   Radiohead as always put out an amazing album.  Anyone who knows me isn’t surprised that this album is here.  Aurora was a new artist I discovered in the wake of the death of David Bowie.  YouTube suggested her cover of Life on Mars.  I was immediately in love with her powerful voice.   I was lucky enough to get to see here this year down in Boston and even go a poster and record signed!

Fruit Bats’s Absolute Loser and The Glory of the Fruit Bats

Yes, that is two separate releases from Eric D. Johnson.  Absolute Loser was a more traditional release, while The Glory of the Fruit Bats was a Record Store Day exclusive.   I found myself leaning pretty heavy on the Alt Country sound this year.

Bon Iver’s 22, A Million

It took me a little time to get into this one, Justin is pushing into some interesting territories.  It seems something new unravels each time I listen to this.

Andrew Bird’s Are You Serious

This came out in April but I didn’t really give it a listen until late in the fall.  It has by far been my most played album in the last few months of the year.  I’m still kicking my self for not seeing him when he came to Portland!

Frightened Rabbit – Painting of a Panic Attack 

Got to see them live this year!  Amazing intimate show at Port City Music Hall.

Car Seat Headrest – Teens of Denial

Late dicovery from most the end of the world end of year lists,  amazing guitar driven album!  I gotta get the on vinyl soon…

The others:
Hinds – Leave Me Alone
Mitski – Puberty 2
Eleanor Friedberger – New View
Juliette Lewis – Future Deep
Lady Lamb – Tender Warriors Club
Metallica – Hardwired…to Self Destruct
My Dying Bride – Feel the Misery
Suicidal Tendancies – World Gone Mad
The Temper Trap – Thick as Thieves
Wilco – Schmilco
Xiu Xiu – Plays the Music of Twin Peaks
Paul Simon – Stranger to Stranger
Weakend Friends – Crushed
Beverly – The Blue Swell

I could write a lot about the above, but I’ll spare you.  Check them all out!

See you next year!

One thought on “2016 List of lists…

  1. Nice List. Here’s mine:
    1. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree
    2. David Bowie – Lazarus
    3. A Tribe Called Quest – We Got It From Here…Thank you for your service
    4. Wilco – Schmilco
    5. Rolling Stones – Bliue and Lonesome (their best in 40 years IMHO)
    6. Paul SImon – Stranger to Stranger
    7. Drive By Truckers – American Band (my favorite of 2016)
    8. Lucinda Williams – The Ghost of Highway 20
    9. Bob Dylan – 1966 Royal Albert Hall Concert
    10. Spoon – Gimme FIction (reissue)
    11. The Cramps – Bad Music for Bad People (not new this year, but I just discovered it)
    12. Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool

Leave a Reply

